Viewing By Category : Awards / Main
Thursday, December 20, 2007

HOUSTON  - Tiger Woods, Lorena Ochoa and Jay Haas were voted
players of the year on their respective tours by the Golf Writers
Association of America
on Wednesday, the second straight year they
won the awards.
      Woods, who has won the award a record nine times in the last 11
had seven victories on the PGA Tour, captured his 13th
career major at the PGA Championship and easily won the inaugural
FedEx Cup by winning the final two playoff events.
      He received 205 votes, with the other five going to Phil
      Ochoa won by the same margin over Suzann Pettersen. The
26-year-old from Mexico rose to No. 1 in the world, won her first
major in the Women's British Open at St. Andrews and finished her
LPGA Tour season with eight victories and more than $4 million.
Until this year, no female had ever won more than $3 million in a
      Haas became the first senior tour player to win the GWAA award
in consecutive years since Hale Irwin in 1997-98
. He received 152
votes to win the award over Loren Roberts, who had 56 votes. Haas
won four times, led the Champions Tour money list for the second
straight year and finished second to Roberts in the Charles Schwab
Cup race.
      The players will be honored April 9 in Augusta, Ga., at the GWAA
annual awards dinner.

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

Golf News, Source,

Ochoa and Tiger Woods, who won the male athlete award, dominated the golfing world this year, winning fourteen titles between them.

The 24-year-old OCHOA polled 220 votes, double that of second-placed tennis player Amelie Mauresmo, who won two of the four grand slam tournaments.

Mauresmo's colleague Maria Sharapova tied with basketballer Lisa Leslie for third place while Justin Henin-Hardenne and Winter Olympic gold medalist Hannah Teter rounded out the top five.

The award capped an outstanding rise to the top by Ochoa, who won six LPGA titles throughout the year, overtaking Annika Sorenstam's reign as the world's best female golfer.

Ochoa's victory in front of her home crowd in Mexico mid-year sent her to the top of the LPGA Player of the Year award and she never looked back.

In her biggest win for the year Ochoa overcame a three-shot deficit in the final round of the Samsung World Championship to haul in leader Sorenstam and win by two shots.

The victory by two golfers of the female and male athlete awards was the first time since 1993 that the winners of both awards have come from the same sport.

A special offer from EdwinWatts our sponsor:

To View the Latest Golf Equipment @ Great Prices Click here !

Follow us on: