Viewing By Category : Q-School / Main
Wednesday, December 7, 2005

Golf News, Source, John B. Holmes completed his sixth round in the 60s on Monday, a 3-under 69, and won medalist honors at the PGA Tour Qualifying Tournament. He finished the marathon event at 24-under-par 408 and won the tournament by three over Germany's Alex Cejka.

Tom Byrum (70) and Nick Watney (69) tied for fifth place at minus-17. Daisuke Maruyama (68) and Michael Allen (74) finished knotted at 16-under-par 416.

The top-30 players and ties earned full exempt status for the 2006 PGA Tour season. The final number turned out to be 32 with everyone 11 under par or better advancing.

These players picked up their tour cards for next year: Hunter Mahan, Will MacKenzie, Robert Garrigus, Marco Dawson, John Engler, Jeff Overton, Henrik Bjornstad, former U.S. Amateur Champion Bubba Dickerson, Ron Whittaker, Ian Leggatt, Ryan Hietala, Brian Bateman, Matt Hansen, Alex Aragon, Greg Kraft, Mike Sposa, Bill Glasson, Danny Ellis, Michael Connell, Brett Wetterich, B.J. Staten, Frank Lickliter, Mathias Gronberg and Bill Haas.

The next 46 players down to 4-under-par 428 got full exempt status on next year's Nationwide Tour. All other players get conditional status on that tour in 2006.

Among the notable players who only managed conditional status on the Nationwide Tour were former Masters champion Larry Mize, four-time PGA Tour winner Notah Begay III, 2000 PGA Championship runner-up Bob May and former Ryder Cupper Per-Ulrik Johansson.

Friday, December 2, 2005

Golf News, Source, Michael Allen, the opening-round leader, extended his margin on Thursday as he took a six-shot lead after two rounds of the PGA Tour Qualifying School. He posted a 4-under 68 and stands at 12-under-par 132.

D.A. Points (69), Henrik Bjornstadt (69), John B. Holmes (69), Alex Aragon (68) and Greg Kraft (72) are knotted in second place at 6-under-par 138. Having the president fasten the Medal of Freedom around your neck while an announcer booms your life's greatest accomplishments apparently does something even to those most accustomed to fame and fortune.

The six-round marathon is being played on the Panther Lake and Crooked Cat Courses at Orange County National Golf Center & Lodge. The low 30 scores and ties will earn PGA Tour cards for 2006. The next 51 finishers will earn fully exempt Nationwide Tour cards for 2006 and the remainder of the field will receive conditional Nationwide Tour status.

Alex Cejka (66), Jeff Overton (71), Peter Tomasulo (69), Danny Ellis (70), Scott Hend (70), Robert Garrigus (71) and Ryan Howison (70) share seventh place at 5-under-par 139.

A special offer from EdwinWatts our sponsor:

To View the Latest Golf Equipment @ Great Prices Click here !

Wednesday, November 30, 2005

Golf News, Source, Steve Pate, Duffy Waldorf and Jay Delsing were teammates at UCLA during the early 1980s. Now they are part of another class with far less distinction. All three failed to advance out of the second stage of Q-School.

Waldorf, a four-time winner on the PGA Tour, failed to finish in the top 125 on the money list for the first time in 1990, and because he was outside the top 150, he had to go through the second stage. He still should be able to play about 20 events next year with his past champion status.

Other trends from the second stage? Being a former U.S. Amateur champion didn't carry much weight. Among the former Amateur winners who didn't advance to the final stage were Matt Kuchar, Ricky Barnes and Jeff Quinney. Another casualty was Ty Tryon, now 21 and old enough to buy a drink, but who has nowhere to play except on the mini-tours. Tryon became the youngest qualifier four years ago at 17, but it appears to be getting tougher the older he gets. He failed to break par in any of his four rounds. The six-round final stage gets under way Nov. 30 at Orange County National in Orlando, Fla.

Follow us on: